Why high school relationships are overrated

High school relationships are overrated and stupid. They are also annoying and a huge pain in the butt. This may seem extreme coming from a sophomore in high school, but in my few experiences, I have gained valuable expertise.

When I was younger, all I ever wanted was a boyfriend. I envied the girls who had someone to hold hands with in the hallways. And then I got into high school.

Not only did I stop envying the girls with boyfriends, I found couples disgusting. Especially the ones who make out in the hallway. I mean honestly, no one wants to see you stick your tongue down your boyfriend/girlfriend’s throat. However, that is irrelevant to this post.

The main reason why I think high school relationships are overrated is because they don’t mean anything. Most of the relationships only last a few months at most, and then when they are over, the two people never talk again. None of these relationships last, so what’s the point? You’re just wasting time that could be spent on other things.

Another reason I think relationships are stupid is because people get so worked up over them. You’re in high school, none of these relationships are gonna last, so who cares. They don’t matter. I think  drama over relationships is dumb and immature.

I also find having a boyfriend very annoying and bothersome.

Relationships take up so much time. You have to text your boyfriend and talk to them on the phone, losing homework time and sleep. Also you have to look cute all the time, not like a hobo. This sucks.

For girls, having a significant other especially stinks. You can’t

  • burp or fart
  • talk about poop
  • complain about periods, without your boyfriend either freaking out or saying something incredibly sexist
  • eat as much as you want around them without worrying that they are going to think you’re weird

Honestly, boyfriends are a huge pain and I rather focus on doing well in school and sports than a boyfriend. I have noticed lately, that many of my acquaintances are boy crazy and it’s super annoying. I can’t stand girls who all they do is flirt with guys, when frankly,  I have no interest in doing so. I have better things to do, goals to reach, and I can’t afford to have any distractions.

Last year, I was infatuated with the idea of a boyfriend, but then I grew up. I realized that there is more to life then dating the boy on the football team, to quote Taylor Swift. I was a naive, teenage girl.

However, after getting my heart broken for the first time, things changed. It was a huge reality check. One that I am incredibly thankful for. Having a broken heart taught me so much. I learned what really mattered: family, friends, and happiness.

High school is supposed to be fun. So make good choices and focus on what matters. Stop worrying about whether or not you have a love life and just enjoy the next couple of years. Who you dated or didn’t date in high school will not matter 20 years down the road. What will matter is what you learned and how you used it to build a successful life.

Leave a Reply

