The problem with school

I love school, don’t get me wrong, but I think that there is many things that we are taught that are a huge waste of our time. I think getting an education is important and I am blessed to be able to access the one I do. However on a daily basis, I find myself annoyed and bored with my classes.

First of all, I know that some of the things we learn in math and science we will have to know when we’re older if we go into something in the engineering field, but some of the stuff, even in the professions that use some of the highest levels of math, we will never use. For example, one evening I was struggling with my pre-calc homework and my older sister, who is also an architectural engineer, decided to help. While looking at the problem, she said,” You will never use this again. I don’t even use this.” And she is an ENGINEER. I don’t understand why the curriculum can focus on things that we will use someday in any profession and not just some random skill that is pointless.

Secondly, I hate having to be in classes where the teachers are disorganized and lazy. If you are going to be a teacher, then you actually have to TEACH us and be at school. I make a point to transfer out of classes like that because I actually want to learn something and not just have a lazy teacher waste my time. Also, reading straight off a power point and then not elaborating on it is not teaching. I could do that for gods sake.

Third of all, I cannot stand the kids that come to school and waste everyone else’s time. How hard is it too shut up and be quiet so that everyone else who actually gives a shit about their education can learn?? If you don’t want to work hard or learn then get out of the advanced class. I am so sick of people not doing their part of talking when I am trying to listen to what the teacher is saying. I come to school to get an education so that I can be successful with my life and it is my right to have a decent education so people need to respect that and stop inhibiting it.

Last, I would just like to say that I am really tired of kids complaining that they didn’t know it was due and that its the teacher’s fault for not telling them or teaching it to them or giving them the shortened vocab. list. GET OVER IT! Suck it up and pay attention so that you don’t have to deal with an unexpected quiz. Even if the teacher didn’t teach the material that well, you still have to learn it and you can’t blame the teacher for the bad grade. If you work hard enough, you will get a good grade. Whether that means studying extra hard, or getting tutored, quit complaining and actually do something about. If you sit on the couch and complain about how fat you are rather than go out and spend that time that you use complaining to exercise, you might actually get somewhere. It’s not that hard to be proactive.

Oh and one last thing, don’t ask to copy people’s papers. Just do your own work. It’s not my job to be your answer sheet. So get off your ass and put in some effort.

Leave a Reply

