What it’s really like to have divorced parents

My parents are divorced. They have been divorced since I was three years old. I don’t remember what it’s like to have married parents. Divorced parents are all I’ve ever known. 

Honestly, I’m fine with having divorced parents. I don’t feel like I’m missing out on anything. I don’t long to have married parents. If anything, it’s more of a hassle.

The reason its a hassle is because I have to remember to bring whatever I need to each house when I switch. I go back and forth every other day and every other weekend. Every morning, I have to gather up my things that I will need for whichever house I will be at that night. Needless to say, I forget things a lot. 

Having divorced parents can actually be kind of nice. I get two Christmas’, birthdays, Thanksgivings, etc. I also have more family members since my dad remarried which is fun. I get double the love.

What I absolutely hate is when people act like I need sympathy because my parents are divorced. I’m fine with it so I just wish everyone else would be too. 

Since I’ve grown up with separated parents, I don’t necessarily see the value in marriage. I’ve seen what happens if it doesn’t work out and its not pretty. I don’t ever want to go through something like that and if I had children, put them through that. 

I think that people need to be very sure about marriage before they jump in to it. 

I think having divorced parents can be a blessing or a curse. It just depends on how you deal with it. 

 

Leave a Reply

