Superstitions

About a year ago, I was semi-living abroad with my family in Austria. I say semi because it was only for about a month. Anyways, one day my family and the Thomas’ took a day trip to Salzburg from where we were staying in Innsbruck.

On that particular day, I was not having a good day. The first place we visited was the Mirabell Gardens where Julie Andrews filmed the Do-Re-Mi segment in The Sound of Music. There was a fountain there and when my youngest sister saw it she was begging my step mom for a coin. Of course, my step mom gave her and the rest of us a coin to toss into the fountain. 

Although this memory is foggy, I know what I had been thinking that day. On that day, I came very close to making an accurate prediction of the things I would struggle with in the fall. 

The wish I made that day was one of the most humanly basic wishes that could be wished and I know that I got the wish at least for now. 

Needless to say, I believe in certain types of superstitions and I would tell you that wish but if you tell then it won’t come true and that gives me bad juju. 

Likewise, I threw another coin into a fountain that summer. When we were in Rome, we went to the Trevi fountain and if you didn’t know, there is a superstition that is you throw a coin into the Trevi fountain you are bound to return to the Eternal City. 

While this wish hasn’t yet occured, I have little doubt in my mind that it won’t happen. 

I have another odd habit that goes a long the lines of superstitions. 

Two summers ago, I was visited Sante Fe, New Mexico. I bought this tiny little jar that according to the piece of paper that came with it, was a Native American dream jar. 

At first, I just left the jar on my bookshelf. At one point in time, I got the idea to write down my dream on a scrap of paper and stick it in there. Much much later when that wish came true, I took the scrap out. Since then, I’ve only done that a handful of times. 

I will admit, some of the things I do are a little eccentric but those are my superstitions and everyone’s got them. 

Leave a Reply

