Falling for Running

About a week and a half ago, I was finally cleared to run three months post-hip surgery. I was a little bit nervous because I hadn’t ran for four months and I knew I was out of shape. The dreams where I would try to run but my legs felt like they were stuck in peanut butter didn’t help either.

Two days after I was cleared, I finally unceremoniously hopped on a treadmill and ran a quarter of a mile. I was scared that my hip would start to hurt, but it didn’t. The whole ordeal was over in three minutes. I went home that day with a smile on my face and ready to tell my dad how worth it the surgery had been because I could run pain free now.

The following week I was discharged from physical therapy and my first full week of running began. Since I didn’t have any pain with a quarter of a mile, I was able to move up to half a mile.

I didn’t realize how much I missed running until I started running again. My mood was always better after I ran and for once, I had something to look forward to.

I’m thrilled to say that the pain and frustration that I went through this summer after hip surgery was worth it. My body feels better than it has in two years.

For a long time, I didn’t know why I kept running when clearly it wasn’t working out. I got to the point during track season where I absolutely despised running. I blamed other people for what happened to my body. I wanted to quit, but I’m glad I didn’t.

Running saved me last year when I was sinking and it still saves me every single day.

Leave a Reply

