I’m back

After an almost six month hiatus from writing and blogging, I decided it was time for me to return to a passion and a coping method that I missed so dearly. However, things are different this time. I have decided to dedicate this blog to mental health.

I struggle with anxiety and depression and I have self-harmed in the past. Many of my family members struggle with mental illnesses as well. Also, as a CNA, many of my patients have mental illnesses, so I have a decent knowledge and understanding of mental health.

My goal on this blog is to help people understand mental health and mental illnesses. While not visible, mental illnesses affect approximately 18.5 percent of U.S. adults, according to the National Institute of Mental Health, and while they may be the most prevalent category of illnesses, they are very misunderstood. That’s why I have chosen to write about them so I can not only have another coping method, but also be able to help others understand.

I will try to post every two weeks, although I make no guarantees. Some topics I plan on covering will be:

  • Addiction
  • Physical effects of Anxiety
  • Internal vs. External Depression
  • Cutter Culture
  • Support Systems
  • Coping Methods

And many, many more! I am very open to suggestions and I would greatly appreciate them. Either DM or leave a comment below if there is a topic you would like me to cover.

Love,

Fiona

Leave a Reply

